Quotable quotes

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Most people collect something. I know people who collect stamps or book marks. Some people even collect pencil sharpeners or tea bags. I have a (relatively) small book collection, and I also collect feathers and lucky dolls. Next to that I collect something that is not a thing: quotes. The reason why is maybe best explained by a quote:

“We cling to music, to poems, to quotes, to writing, to art because we desperately do not want to be alone. We want to know we aren’t going crazy and someone else out there knows exactly how you’re feeling. We want someone to explain things we can’t.”

– unknown

It is strange how a person who does not know me, sometimes describes my feelings better than I can. Feelings seem more usual than we often think. It is comforting to read that I am not the only one who feels a certain way. Therefore it depends on my mood which quote is my favourite. When I feel sad I usually want to read quotes that make me happy. When I feel lazy I need quotes to motivate me to do what I need to do. I believe quotes are most powerful when you read them for the first time. But I do want to share a quote with you that helped me when I once felt really miserable, and maybe you have not read it yet:

“Stop minimizing and discounting your feelings. You have every right to feel the way you do. Your feelings may not always be logical, but they are always valid. Because if you feel something, then you feel it and it’s real to you. It’s not something you can ignore or wish away. It’s there, gnawing at you, tugging at your core, and in order to find peace, you have to give yourself permission to feel whatever it is you feel. You have to let go of what you’ve been told you “should” or “shouldn’t” feel. You have to drown out the voices of people who try to shame you into silence. You have to listen to the sound of your own breathing and honor the truth inside you. Because despite what you may believe, you don’t need anyone’s validation or approval to feel what you feel. Your feelings are inherently right and true. They’re important and they matter — you matter — and it is more than okay to feel what you feel. Don’t let anyone, including yourself, convince you otherwise.”

– Daniel Koepke

Leave a Reply

