Seven books to read if you are in the mood for bookish books

The idea for this post came from the weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday, created by The Broke and The Bookish.

Often I am in a good mood, sometimes I am in a bad mood, but I am (almost) always in the mood for books. I enjoy reading about characters who are bookworms like me. I find books that make references to other books irresistible. I am fond of books within books. Therefore 7 bookish books:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

1. The Neverending Story by Michael Ende

This book is one of my childhood favourites. The Neverending Story is about a boy named Bastian who slowly becomes part of the book he is reading. I like to re-read it now and then, because secretly I still dream about being able to go on adventure with my favourite book characters.

2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief is a beautiful and heartbreaking story set in the Second World War. In my opinion it is best to read this book with knowing as little as possible about it. But a small warning: it will probably make you cry.

3. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

Inkheart is all about books. Meggie herself is a bookworm, her father repairs books and her aunt collects them. Furthermore they have to deal with characters that escaped out of books. I adore the fact that every chapter starts with a quote from another book. Inkheart is the first part of trilogy, but it can be read as a stand-alone.

4. Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

This is the charming story of the web-designer Clay who discovers some secrets about the bookstore where he is working. I am crazy about the cover, since it glows in the dark!

5. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

A book named The Shadow of the Wind, found in the “cemetery of books”, is the beginning of this exciting story. It is a mix between mystery and historical fiction set in the beautiful Barcelona.

6. The Library of Shadows by Mikkel Birkegaard (not included in the picture)

Mikkel Birkegaard is a Danish fantasy writer I did not know about until my aunt lent me The Library of Shadows. Not only is this book about a second-hand bookshop. It is also about a group of people who have the power to affect thoughts and feelings through reading.

7. Matilda by Roald Dahl

I have watched the movie Matilda at least ten times, possibly more. But for the book it is another story. This is one of those rare cases in which I liked the movie more than the book. I wanted to include the book it in this list anyway. After all, without the book there would be no movie.

14 thoughts on “Seven books to read if you are in the mood for bookish books”

  1. The Book Thief is my favorite book. So. Good. And Shadow of the Wind!! YES!!!! Such a great list. I haven’t read Matilda, yet, but it was a childhood fav of one of my best friends. I def need to get my hands on a copy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I also really liked The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe! In a certain way it is quite similar to The Neverending Story, because in both books the characters go to another world through an object. Did you read the other Narnia books too?

      Like

Leave a Reply

