The Book Courtship tag

Marie from drizzleandhurricanebooks invited everyone to do the Book Courtship tag. So here is my own Book Courtship.

Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?

Phase 1 - Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?

Usually I resist the temptation. I always read the summary on the back, and I often research the book I am planning to buy. But sometimes the cover was a big reason to buy the book, with Boneshaker by Cherie Priest for example. It has a gorgeous cover!

Phase 2 – First impressions: A book that you got because of the summary?

Phase 2 - First impressions: A book that you got because of the summary?

I remember finding the dutch version of the City of the Beasts by Isabel Allende in my parents’ bookcase when I was around ten years old. The summary on the back sounded intriguing: a boy who is about to join his fearless grandmother on her journey to the Amazon to document the legendary Yeti.  When I read the book a few years later, I was not disappointed!

Phase 3 – Sweet talk: A book with great writing?

Phase 3 - Sweet talk: A book with great writing?

When I got And the Mountains Echoed for my birthday, I did not expect it to be such a good book. Khaled Hosseini has a beautiful writing style.

Phase 4 – Fist date: A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?

Phase 4 - Fist date: A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?

Lots of people on tumblr recommended The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. It indeed sounded like a good story. So at the beginning of the year I decided to read Cinder myself. It made me definitely want to read the rest of the series!

Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?

Phase 5 - Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?

I could not stop reading Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor. I actually tried to sleep, but I had to know the end of this book first.

Phase 6 – Always on my mind: A book you could not stop thinking about?

Phase 6 - Always on my mind: A book you could not stop thinking about?

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher was quite an impressive book. Through cassette tapes Hannah explains the thirteen reasons why she ended her life.

Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book which you love the way it feels?

I adore fantasy books with maps inside!

Phase 8 – Meeting the parents: A book which you recommend to your family and friends?

Phase 8 - Meeting the parents: A book which you recommend to your family and friends?

Since everyone enjoys different kinds of books, my recommendations depend on the person. But I recently lend All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr to my aunt, because it is a beautiful book.

Phase 9 – Thinking about the future: A book or series you know you will re-read many times in the future?

Phase 9 - Thinking about the future: A book or series you know you will re-read many times in the future?Phase 9 - Thinking about the future: A book or series you know you will re-read many times in the future?Phase 9 - Thinking about the future: A book or series you know you will re-read many times in the future?

It was always hard to choose my favourite book. Since a few years though, the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor is a quite stable number one. I cannot explain how enthusiastic I am about this fantasy series! It has everything I am looking for in books: a good and exciting story, incredible characters and a beautiful writing style.

Phase 10 – Share the love: Who do you tag?

Everyone who likes book-dating! 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Book Courtship tag”

Leave a Reply

