Six hidden gems in YA literature

The idea for this post came from the weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday, created by The Broke and The Bookish. The original topic was “ten books I really love but feel like I haven’t talked about enough/in a while.” I gave my own twist to the topic and have chosen six hidden gems, or in other words six lesser known books I really enjoyed. To tell when a book is “a hidden gem” I have used Goodreads. I only included YA books in this list with less than 20,000 ratings.

Six hidden gems in YA literature

1. Lips Touch: Three Times by Laini Taylor
A lot of people read or heard about the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. But Laini Taylor wrote more amazing books. Lips Touch for example, which consists of three different stories with the titles Goblin Fruit, Spicy Little Curses and Hatchling.  All of them are original and beautifully written stories with a set of unique characters.

2. City of the Beasts by Isabel Allende
I already mentioned this Chilean writer in one of my other posts. But I want to repeat that I adore her books, especially City of the Beasts. Isabel Allende is an amazing storyteller.

3. The Glass Sentence by S.E. Grove
Only the world where this story is set, is enough reason to read it. Due to the Great Disruption parts of this world were flung to another time periods. Which means that when Sophia travels to other places, she also travels through time. Moreover, maps play a crucial role in this story.

4. The Letter for the King by Tonke Dragt
The Letter for the King was one of my favourite books as child. I am so glad it is finally translated to English! I do not understand why it took so long, because in the Netherlands this book is very well-read. It tells the exciting story of Tiuri who goes on a dangerous mission to deliver an important letter to the king of the neighboring kingdom.

5. Crusade in Jeans by Thea Beckman
Thea Beckman is another Dutch writer who has written some great children/YA books. This one is about Rudolf who participates in an experiment with a time machine. Accidentally he arrives in a Children’s Crusade. Because he is not able to go back to his own time, Rudolf decides to help the children. Crusade in Jeans starts out as a science fiction book, but I would rather classify it as historical fiction. As it describes the conditions in which the children have to walk across Europe very accurately.

6. The Little White Horse by Eizabeth Goudge
This is a lovely story that reads like a fairy tale. I liked the dreamy atmosphere and the extensive descriptions of the landscape, the houses and the food. It was first published in 1946. This made The Little White Horse different than most books I know, and sometimes a little old-fashioned. But it was definitively worth my time.

5 thoughts on “Six hidden gems in YA literature”

Leave a Reply

