How to define love

I am still amazed about how fast music can change my mood. One song can make me feel happy, confident, or nostalgic. Just through text and rhythm. Despite the striking similarity of subjects in music. Take the top 20 popular songs at this moment. At least half of these songs are in a certain way about love. Why? I think, because it is something intangible, but also something everyone desires. I do not just mean romantic love. The Meriam-Webster dictionary talks about four forms of love you can feel:

1. strong affection for another arising out of kinship or personal ties
2. attraction based on sexual desire
3. affection based on admiration, benevolence, or common interests
4. warm attachment, ethousiasm, or devotion.

It is true that love can be divided in love for family, romantic love, friendship and seeing or doing something you love. At the same time I have the feeling that words as “attraction” or “affection” cannot do entirely justice to love. I think this is the reason why people write and sing about it. With a few songs I have attempted to make a better definition for love. Not a universal definition, because love is different for everyone. But I have chosen lyrics from 8 songs that form my personal definition of love.

How to define love

“Well I didn’t mean to do it
But there’s no escaping your love”
(Accidentally In Love by Counting Crows)

“And as the world comes to an end
I’ll be here to hold your hand”
(King and Lionheart by Of Monsters and Men)

“When the rain is blowing in your face
And the whole world is on your case
I could offer you a warm embrace”
(Make You Feel My Love by Adele)

“I don’t quite know how to say how I feel
Those three words are said too much
They’re not enough”
(Chasing Cars by Snow Patrol)

“I just wanted to let you know
That someone else has stolen my heart
And now another girl has caught your eye
That doesn’t mean I don’t think of you”
(Michel by Anouk)

“I see your true colors, and that’s why I love you”
(True Colors by Phil Colins)

“He’ll find his own way to tell you
With the little things he’ll do
That’s how you know”
(That’s How You Know from the movie Enchanted)

“Oh, if the sky comes falling down, for you
There’s nothing in this world I wouldn’t do”
(Hey Brother by Avicii)

Bonus: the Dutch song Mag Ik Dan Bij Jou by Claudia de Breij

I would like to see how you define love! Post your lyrics or a link to your blogpost in the comments.

Leave a Reply

