Four books everyone who likes to draw or paint should read

The idea for this post came from the weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday, created by The Broke and The Bookish.

Reading is one of my biggest hobbies. But I also enjoy painting and drawing. Although I do not do it as often as I would like. The most important reason is the fear to fail. The fear that my drawing will not resemble the thing I drew. This is probably a thing a lot of people struggle with. It is also the thing that prevents people to draw or paint. Me too, on some days. That is why I like to read books that encourage me to draw and paint, even if I think I am not good enough. If these books learned me one thing, it is that everyone can do it. Because it is not about talent. Far more important are practice and enjoying the process. Here are my 4 favourite books about drawing and painting:

Four books everyone who likes to draw or paint should read

1. The Creative License by Danny Gregory
This is the book for everyone who did not believe me when I wrote that everyone can draw and paint. It is my absolute favourite book about this subject. Now and then I like to read the book, or only a few pages, and it always results in a drawing. Danny Gregory taught me the importance of practicing every day and that making mistakes is just a way to learn. I am definitely planning to read more of his books.

2. The Journal Fodder Junkies Workshop: Visual Ammunition for the Art Addict by Eric M. Scott and David R. Modler
The art journals of Eric Scott and David Modler were different than I had ever seen: color, paint, drawings, pictures and writing all over the pages. They proof that art does not have to be perfect to be beautiful. Next to the pictures, the authors give some good techniques I could use in my own art journal.

3. How to Draw & Paint Fairyland by Linda Ravenscroft
I like to look through this book, because it is a great source of inspiration. Every drawing is like a fantasy story. Books like this, with lots of beautiful drawings from talented artists, can be intimidating when you feel like you absolutely suck in drawing. But Linda Ravenscroft also gives some simple techniques to make your own fairyland.

4. Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Colouring Book by Johanna Basford
Colour books like this one are great when I feel just too much pressure to draw something myself. It is relaxing and the end result is always nice. I think this colour book would also be a good start when you have not drawn for a long time.

3 thoughts on “Four books everyone who likes to draw or paint should read”

Leave a Reply

