Top six characters I would like to meet before or after the book(s)

The idea for this post came from the weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday, created by The Broke and The Bookish.

Not everyone agrees, but I like the epilogue of Harry Potter. It was nice to know what became of my beloved characters. Although I do not often think about their future while reading, it is interesting to fantasize about what becomes of characters after the book has ended. Here are three characters I like to meet around ten years after the book or series has ended (I promise that I will not spoil anything):

1. Will Parry from His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman
It is a few years ago since the last time I read this amazing trilogy (so time for a re-read). Next to Lyra, Will always has been my favourite character. I would like to know what becomes of him after the trilogy has ended.

2. Luna Lovegood from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
I already know something about Luna’s life after Hogwarts from a Daily Prophet article written by J.K. Rowling. But I could read a whole book about her!

3. Oskar Schell from Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
Oskar is such a lovely and smart boy. I am really curious about what kind of job he is going to get. I imagine him becoming a jewelry fabricator, an archaeologist or maybe a curator of of a museum.

Top 3 characters I would like to meet after the book(s)

The past of characters is often already a part of the story. In some book series, like Harry Potter, we see the character growing up. In other books the reader finds out more about the earlier life of the characters during the book. But some characters have a childhood we know (almost) nothing about. Here are three characters I would like to meet before the book or series began:

1. Gandalf from The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
As far as I can remember, Gandalf’s life is one big mystery. I am curious about Gandalf  as child. Where did he grow up? Were is parents also wizards? And from who did he learn to do magic?

2. Kate Cold from City of the Beasts by Isabel Allende
I never met (in real life or in books) a grandmother who takes her grandson on a trip to the Amazon rain forest. I definitely would like to know more about her and her other adventures.

3. Sherlock Holmes from the Sherlock Holmes stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
I must admit that I only read A Study in Scarlet. Most of what I know about Sherlock Holmes is based on the British television series Sherlock and the American television series Elementary. In the books may be more about this subject. But I am really curious about how Sherlock became the person he is.

Top 3 characters I would like to meet before the books

13 thoughts on “Top six characters I would like to meet before or after the book(s)”

  1. I loved this weeks topic, there are so many characters I would love to revisit. You have picked some great ones, although a few of these are from books I still need to read. I completely forgot about Will, and Lyra for that matter!!! I’d love to catch up with both of them. You can check out my list here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh yes, I would love to meet Luna! She was such an interesting character, it would be fun to see whether all the creatures she goes on about are actually real and/or she can see them. Maybe she’s got a special sight?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If you are going to be accurate to canon, Gandalf never had a regular childhood. The wizards are all Maiar (angels) and were sent to Middle Earth looking the way they do. An interesting side note is that the Balrog is a fallen Maiar (like Sauron).

    That, of course, means that any story of his youth (if he had one) would take place among the other angels and we might get to meet the villians before their fall. Sounds very interesting to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

