The best and worst books made into movies

There are some movie adaptations I absolutely love and some I despise. I compiled a list of three movies I hope to never see again and three that were instant favourites.

The worst

The worst movie adaptations

They are the reason I am a little afraid when I read that one of my favourite books is going to become a movie. I have accepted that movies and books cannot be identical, but the producers of these movie adaptations made a little too much mistakes:

The Golden Compass (2007)
This movie was such a disappointment. It was not the fault of the actors, they did a good job. But the producers “forgot”the religious parts of the book, and that is NOT something you can just leave out. I am also really annoyed by the fact that Miss Coulter has blond instead of black hair. Why didn’t they give Nicole Kidman a wig?

A few months ago I heard that His Dark Materials will be adapted again, but this time as a tv-series by the BBC. I really hope they will do a better job!

Eragon (2006)
I think it is generally agreed that this movie was a big fail. Important parts of the book were left out and the actors weren’t that great. The positive thing is that they did not try to adapt the other parts of the book series.

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013)
I must admit that the scenery in the movie was beautiful. But the idea to turn a book with a little more than 300 pages in three movies is just ridiculous. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey on itself was not that bad, but so many unnecessary details were added in The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. I didn’t even bother to go to the last part.

The best

The best movie adaptations

The producers of these movies did an amazing job. This is how you make a movie from a book:

Matilda (1996)
One of the very few movies that I think is better than the book. Every time this movie is on television I watch it! Even though I have seen Matilda at least ten times (probably more).

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013)
The producers stayed close to the original story, acting was good and the movie was exciting to watch. I still haven’t watched Mockingjay part 1 en 2, but I have high expectations.

The Lord of The Rings (2001, 2002, 2003)
I really admire The Lord of the Rings. It is a wonderful story that inspired many other fantasy stories. Middle-Earth is high on my list of fictional words I would like to visit, and the producers did a great job of portraying it. The actors are also well-chosen. Nobody could play a better Gandalf than Ian McKellen!

4 thoughts on “The best and worst books made into movies”

Leave a Reply

