My top 3 favourite podcasts

A few months ago I discovered the existence of podcasts. Just like books, podcasts can have lots of different subjects. But contrary to books, podcasts can be listened while doing something else. (Technically that is also possible with books, but not always a success…) Podcasts make doing the laundry or other household chores far more amusing! Just install an app (I use Podcast Addict) on your phone or listen via Google Play or iTunes.

For a while I wanted to write a post about podcasts. The Broke and The Bookish happened to do an audio freebie for this Top Ten Tuesday. So the ideal moment to write about my favourite podcasts!

1. Podcastle (link)

podcastle

Every week PodCastle publishes two amazing fantasy stories written by a variety of writers and read by various narrators. I like the fact that lots of different themes and characters are included, main characters can be black or queer and are sometimes even animals. My favourite is Podcastle 413: This is Not a Wardrobe Door. A story inspired by Narnia, written by A. Merc Rustad and read by the full cast.

If you rather listen to science fiction, Escape pod may be more your thing. This is a sister podcast of PodCastle.

2. Clarkesworld (link)

clarkesworld

Actually Clarkesworld is a magazine, but a lot of their science fiction and fantasy stories can also be found in audio form. They have longer stories, some are more than two hours, but most take around half an hour.

The archive is huge, and I have only listened to a few podcasts, but I adored Cat Pictures Please. This is a short story about artificial intelligence with a personality, written by Naomi Kritzer.

3. Happier with Gretchen Rubin (link)

happier-with-gretchen-rubin

In this podcast Gretchen Rubin (you may know her from The Happiness Project) and her sister Elizabeth Craft talk about how to be happier. Every week the two sisters discuss a topic that is often identifiable. I like how honest they are in the podcast by showing that they are just humans who make mistakes too. My favourite episode was Podcast 70: What’s the Best Advice You Ever Got?

Next to this longer episodes, Gretchen Rubin starts every week with a small advice. For example I May Not Be the Best, But I’m Probably Not The Worst.

 

10 thoughts on “My top 3 favourite podcasts”

  1. I love podcasts as well and also recently discovered them. I usually listen to ones that discuss books but recently i tuned in to Welcome to Night Vale and I’m in love with it. It’s such an odd podcast about a weird town.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

