Five book characters I’d name my cat after

I have finally find time to post something! This post is about two of my favourite topics to talk about: books and cats. I do not have a cat, but fortunately I have Tumblr. So I have an almost daily supply of cute cat photos and crazy cat stories. This blog was still lacking cats, so time to do something about that! I was inspired by the weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday, created by The Broke and The Bookish. I had never thought about the name of my future cat. Today I discovered there are lots of options, enough to get (at least) five cats! Here are the five book characters I’d name my cats after:

Five book characters I'd name my cat after

1. Issa
Fantasy writers are great in coming up with original names. (Although this sometimes results in strange and unpronounceable names…) It will be no surprise that I love the character names in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. Issa would be a beautiful cat name, it sounds nice and also kind of wise.

2. Luna
This one may not be really original, but Luna is one of my favourite characters from the Harry Potter series. I always liked her name and the fact that it is latin for moon. Luna would be a good name for a white cat with gorgeous blue eyes.

3. Scarlet
The perfect name for a red cat, since it literally means red. I actually know two books with a character named Scarlet: Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell and Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. I would rather name my cat after the main character in the last book, since Scarlet Benoit is a lot more sympathetic than Scarlet O’Hara.

4. Katniss
I would not want to miss the chance to name a cat Katniss! Furthermore it is a great character from The Hunger Games! Or I could name my future cat after an actual cat from that series and call it Buttercup.

5. Bast
It would be quite awesome to name a cat after a cat goddess! Bast was actually worshiped in Ancient Egypt, but she also plays an important role in The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan.

I love kitties

9 thoughts on “Five book characters I’d name my cat after”

  1. Oh Katniss would be too perfect for a cat. I APPROVE OF THAT. Very punny. 😉 I don’t think I’ll ever have a cat but I would seriously consider naming it Catsby (instead of Gasby!) if I did.😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

