Read women’s books!

There are lots of ways to take action on International Women’s Day. But why just today? As an experiment I ONLY read books written by women since the beginning of this year. It is not something new. I was inspired by the #readwomen challenge on Tumblr. The Women’s Marches all over the world motivated me to continue after January. I think I will continue until the end of April. Reading (only) women’s books is a great way to celebrate and support women. In the last months I read some amazing books. I also started a search for books that are not only written by women, but are also about strong and diverse women and girls. I discovered numerous books that I haven’t read yet. So I have decided to share my TBR-list with some highly-recommended books on it.

Read women's books

Non-fiction
I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai with Christina Lamb
Malala is one of my personal heroines. She is about my age and one of the bravest persons I can think of. She did not stopped fighting for her right to education, despite being shot in the head at the age of fifteen.

Amelia Lost by Candace Fleming
Another brave woman I admire was Amelia Earhart. She is best known for being the first female aviator to fly solo across the Atlantic Ocean. During a flight she disappeared. Strange enough, her body was never found.

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
This book is regularly recommended when talking about feminist books. According to some people it is a must-read. So I am keen to read more about the life of Maya Angelou.

Read women's books

Fiction
Eon by Alison Goodman
This book is said to have a strong female character, a blend of Chinese and Japanse mythology and dragons! It is the fist part of a duology about Eona, who has been masquerading as a boy to study dragon magic.

Binti by Nnedi Okorafor
If this book is just as stunning as the cover, it must be a great book. The main character, Binti, is the first of her people to gain entry to the best university in the galaxy. CW from Read, Think, Ponder recommended this book in her post about Books by Black Authors. Check her blog if you would like to find more diverse books!

The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
A story about time-traveling! Nixie travels the world in different centuries on her father’s time-travelling ship. He desperately searches for a map for 1868 Honolulu in order to save Nixie’s mother from dying. This book is recommended by YABookers in their post about Women’s History Month, definitively check it out!

Leave a Reply

