Five books that are on top of my TBR list

I do not literally keep a list of books I want to read this year. In my experience it works better to choose a book that matches my mood. But I do intend to read particular books this year. Either because they have stand unread on my bookshelves far too long or because I want to read more books of a specific type. Here are 5 books I definitely want to read in 2016:

5 books that are on top of my TBR list

1. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

I was introduced to this writer due to her amazing TED talk about The danger of a single story. Although I came across this speech a few years ago, I still have not read one of her books. Another reason for reading this book is my resolution to read more books by writers who are not from Europe or the United States. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie came from Nigeria, a country I know very little about.

2. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

I also would like to read more books with LGBTQIA (in other words Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender/Transsexual, Queer, Intersexual and Asexual) characters. Only a few books I read have gay or asexual side characters, but I have never read books with LGBTQIA main characters. I do think it is important to read about (fictional) people who are different than we are. Whether they come from another part of the world or have a different sexual preference. Just to discover that they are more alike then we thought. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe seems to me like a good starting point to read more books with LGBTQIA main characters.

 3. The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

This book was somewhere recommended for fans of Harry Potter. That made me curious. When I read this is a story about a girl who learns to animate paper creatures and to bring stories to life, I knew this was a book for me.

4. Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

When my grandmother died a few years ago, this book ended up in my bedroom. Now and then I like to read classics. This seemed like a good one. But it already have lied far too long in the pile of books next to my bed.

5. 1984 by George Orwell

Another classic I want to read. I have this book as an e-book on my tablet. Usually I enjoy reading about dystopias, so I think 1984 will be an interesting read.

3 thoughts on “Five books that are on top of my TBR list”

Leave a Reply

